History of Touch Football Referee's Association

The New South Wales Touch Football Referee's Association was formed in 1977 with appointments by the NSW Touch Football Association of Peter Rooney as President and Director of Referees. Ron Carroll was appointed as Secretary / Treasurer. The following years 1978 and 1979 saw additional office bearers appointed, namely, Snr. Vice President Brian Burns, Vice President Doug Pardy and Co-Patrons Keith Page and Ray Vawdon

1979 saw the first intake of graded state referees where a system was introduced that has continued in successfully promoting and developing skill levels of referees up until the present day. 1980 saw administrations changes with the election of Ron Carroll as President and Executive Director of NSW TFA.

Richard Hamilton became the Hon. Secretary, and Ron Lowry the Treasurer of the Referee's Association. Peter Rooney became Senior Vice President of NSW TFA. and in 1980 Director of Referees for the Australian Touch Football. Senior Vice President Michael Horne took over Peter's, role as President of the Referee's Association

Later that year and because of heavy business commitments Ron Lowry stood down and Graham Blyth subsequently filled his position. 1981 saw a new President in Brian Burns with Peter Rooney moving to Director of Referees with the ATA. Richard Hamilton took over the role vacated by Peter.

John Bonnetti from as President of the of Country Referees Association and Barry Keenahan from the Illawarra was appointed to fill the role

Peter Rooney and Ron Carroll were the architects in building a strong and stable Referee Association during the early years. Ron Carroll remained as Patron to the NSW FTA for many years and. life membership bestowed on Peter Rooney is a fitting acknowledgment for his work and dedication in the Referees' Association and that of the Head Body

Information provided by Steve Silva, former President of NSW TFA